Have you ever wondered what elements and qualities mean when reading about your zodiac sign? Each sign is symbolized by four of the basic elements: fire, air, earth, and water. And while they carry the nature of these elements, you need to acknowledge the qualities of your zodiac sign, too. In this article, we’re going to explain the elements in Astrology and give some tips on Astrological qualities, too. If you want to go even deeper in Astrology, don’t forget to check out our articles on Astrological Houses and Planets in Astrology.


Elements in Astrology

fire symbol

Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are the three zodiac signs of the fire element. Fire signs all carry the same features. If you know a couple of things about astrology, you must be aware of the fact that all three of these signs have a big inner-force; they always come first, they want to be leaders, and they are usually extraverted. Imagine the characteristics of actual fire when you think about the qualities it brings out: it’s always moving, it’s a source of energy, and it shines. And when you think about Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, it all makes sense.


earth symbol

The element of Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, the earth element, is all about the physical body. When you look at earth signs, you see a more grounded, down to earth people. Another quality of the earth element is the resistance to change. You can see this in the routine-loving natures of earth signs, and in some cases, it comes out at as stubbornness. On the social front, we can say that earth signs prefer being alone to be in crowds, and that’s because they don’t want others to mess with their neat lives.


air symbol

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are the Air signs of the zodiac. The major force of the element air is on the mind. So when we look at air signs, we see highly-sociable people that know how to speak.

Another quality the air element brings out in people is their curiosity. They are always on a quest to learn new stuff and understand the world a little better. When you think about the actual air element, you see that it is everywhere and is in constant motion. This constant flow of air represents the explorative and communicative sides of the air signs.


water symbol

The element of Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces, the water element is all about emotions and spirituality. All three of these signs experience emotions a little more intense than the others. The first thing that comes to mind when you think about Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces is passion and maybe a little melancholy. On the social front, water signs are more passive and introvert. Their way of bonding with people is on an emotional level rather than verbal. When you think about the actual water, you see that it takes the shape of its environment, and that can be read as the highly-empathetic sides of the water signs.


Qualities in Astrology

We’ve mentioned elements are the foundation of the zodiac signs, and what comes next and constructs on top of that foundation is the qualities. There are three main qualities in Astrology, and each of them determines how you render the elements.

The signs with the cardinal quality, Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn, think with their passions and interpret their root elements with their hearts. They are the go-getters of the zodiac, and ambition is the main force on their souls; so yes, they’ll do whatever is necessary to get them what they want.

The signs with the fixed quality, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius, interpret their elements with an analytical approach. They are the perfectors of the zodiac chart. They don’t like surprising things to mess with their heads, and so, they try to make their flow of life more persistent.

The signs with the mutable quality, Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces, render their root elements with an emotional approach. They are flexible, can adapt to new situations easily, and this may sometimes lead to being a bit inconsistent. Even if they value what their mind says, they go with their guts.

Previous PostPlanets and Their Meanings in Astrology
Next PostWeekly Horoscope January 20 - January 26, 2020