Welcome to the complex side of Astrology that finally makes you say “huh.” Yes, we’re talking about the planets: the major players of Astrology. And if you’re still skeptical about Astrology, that’s because you only consider their Sun sign. Of course, your Sun sign gives you the base qualities of your personality, but there are lots of other variables on your birth chart. So if you’ve been only looking at your Sun sign and saying “that’s not me,” read this article and think again. Astrological houses, planets, and elements all come together and give you a chart of how the movements of the planets affect your mood. In this article, we’re going to try to explain the basics of the most important influencing forces on our moods: the planets of the zodiac. Since you’re here, don’t forget to check out our articles on zodiac houses and elements.


There are ten planets in astrology. Of course, not all of them are planets, but here, we’re going to call them that: The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and our little friend Pluto. Each of these planets influences us according to their placements at the given time, and we call the places that the planets come on go “houses.” So without further ado, let’s get into the meanings of each planet in Astrology.


What do the Planets Represent in Astrology?

sun symbol
The Sun

It’s no surprise that Leo’s ruling planet is the sun, as we’re talking about central forces here. Leos need other people to revolve around them, as other planets revolve around the Sun. The Sun represents the energy of life. For the majority of astrologists, the Sun is a male force, and influences here and now—It is what you put on the outside. The Sun also represents the creative energy we have, but not in the “inner-child” way—It’s all solid and mature.


moon symbol

The Moon

Unlike the Sun, the Moon represents your secretive side, or your inner-self if you will. Like in Tarot cards, the Sun and the Moon have opposite meanings. The Sun symbolizes the present, and the Moon is all about the past. Since it is the ruler of Cancer, you can read the planet with the personality traits of Cancer: Emotions, nostalgia, and female energy. So the next time you think about your moon sign, read it as your way of dealing with emotions and the past.


mercury symbol


The ruling planet of Virgo and Gemini, Mercury represents the way you think and express yourself, especially in the communicative area. It is also one of the most popular planets since it goes into retrograde 3-4 times a year. Everybody blames the Mercury retrograde for all of the bad stuff, but it only influences your communications, and everybody can handle 2-3 weeks of retrograde every other season!


venus symbol


The planet of love, romance, and relationships, Venus is the ruler of Taurus and Libra. As well as being the planet of romances, Venus also has a strong influence on finances. This is a very positive planet that we’re talking about since it is also two of the helper planets and brings luck to the houses it enters. So the next time you see Venus in your chart, it should put a smile on your face.


mars symbol


The ruler of Aries, Mars, has a very strong influence on whichever house it enters. Mars is the planet of action. It gives us the power of stepping out of our comfort zones. Like the Sun, Mars has a very forceful side, but unlike the Sun, the force of Mars comes out in spontaneous matters. You can call it the go-getter of the planets.


jupiter symbol


The planet of great luck and expansion, Jupiter, is the ruling planet of Sagittarius. Whichever house the greatest planet enters, it stays there for a long time, and on the bright side, there are no wrong things with Jupiter, it only makes everything roll a little more beneficial. And this year, 2020, all 12 signs will bu under the influence of Jupiter in different ways, so don’t forget to check out our 2020 predictions.


saturn symbol


Usually considered as a negative influencing planet, Saturn, the ruler of Capricorn, is only there for lessons. When Saturn enters one of your house charts, you need to work on whatever house Saturn is in. The huge planet is there for you to solve your problems with your past, relationships, or your friends. And if you go with its flow, the result will actually be beneficial for you, so don’t put the blame on Saturn and face your fears.


uranus symbol


The planet of spontaneity, change, and surprises, Uranus is the ruler of Aquarius. When Uranus enters your chart, it may bring awakening on that particular house and may give you the strength to step up. But don’t perceive the force of Uranus as of the force of Mars. Uranus gives you the awakening force on matters, and if you’re willing, you can lead that power into change.


neptune symbol


Representing our subconscious and spirituality, Neptune is the ruling planet of Pisces. Our hopes and dreams are ruled by Neptune, but positive as is sounds, it can be a little scary when Neptune comes in the picture. Since it has a very strong force, it may get you carried away with your fantasies, pulling you off from your reality. When Neptune comes into your chart, make provisions for being a little more carefree.


pluto symbol


Although it the farthest smallest Planet, Pluto represents major transformations like death and birth. When we say death or birth, we don’t mean the actual end of life, it’s more like ending a chapter and beginning a new one. Pluto rules over the most passionate sign, Scorpio, and accordingly, it also influences our passions and sexuality on a subconscious level.


Previous PostThe Houses of Horoscope
Next PostElements and Qualities in Astrology