For thousands of years, people have been looking at the night sky and trying to extract some meanings from it. The planets, stars, constellations, and of course, stories of the ancient gods and goddesses have been the guidelines for astrologists for thousands of years around the world. When you get a hold of it, astrology can be a great way of explaining the mood and nature of people. However, looking at the sun signs alone while reading your zodiac chart is not enough, you also need to consider the houses, elements, and other factors to get a clear picture. Here at Dear Horoscope, we’re doing everything we can to give you the basics of astrology.

Sun Signs

The base of astrology is undoubtedly the sun signs. Even people who don’t believe in astrology know what their sun sign is. Your sun sign is assigned by your birth date, and it defines the foundation of your personality.

As commonly known, there are 12 sun signs in the zodiac, and of course it’s not a coincidence which signs are assigned to certain dates. It’s determined by the angle between our planet, Earth and the constellations of the zodiac signs. Constellations, which correspond to the different time of the year, are formed by a group of the brightest stars and planets. As a result, ancient astrologists had decided the twelve zodiac signs by looking at the shapes in the sky—simple.

Ruling Planets

Every zodiac sign has at least one ruling planet, and that’s one of the most essential facts to embrace if you want to get into astrology. Your ruling planet influences your mood in accordancewith its relationship with the sun at that time, and practically all the horoscope readings are based on the movements and angles of the ruling planets.

The Sun
Planet of Self

The Moon
Planet of Emotions

Planet of Communication

Planet of Love

Planet of Passion

Planet of Luck

Planet of Karma

Planet of Rebellion

Planet of Illusion

Planet of Power

Planet of Illusion

Planet of Power

The Houses

Another important thing to take into consideration while reading your horoscope is the houses. You must’ve seen sentences like “Aries will be in the ninth house next week.” In order to get a handle onastrology, you need to know what houses mean, and it’s actually pretty simple. Each house represents a zodiac sign and it goes in sequence. For example, Aries is the first house, and Taurus is the second.

Here’s the table of the signs and their houses:

The First House

The Second House

The Third House

The Forth House

The Fifth House

The Sixth House

The Seventh House

The Eight House

The Nineth House

The Tenth House

The Eleventh House

The Twelfth House

So, if your sign is in the fifth house that week, that means you’ll be under the influenceof Leo and the qualities of the sign.


The four elements of the universe— fire, water, air, and earth are also associated with the zodiac signs. These elements play a huge role when it comes to compatibility of the signs, not to mention they give the people of their associated signs spiritual qualities.


The signs of the fire element, Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius tend to be more playful and energetic than others. They like challenges and standing out in crowds.


Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces are water signs. For them, the emotional quality of life is more important than the material one.


The signs of the air element, Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius are known for their speedy minds, which can lead to dualities. But on the bright side, they tend to be more creative than others.


Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn are the zodiac signs associated with the earth element. They want everything to go in a perfect flow, which makes them the primmest of the 12 zodiac signs

Astrological Symbols


Astrology is and has always been one of the most popular topics around the world, and if you want to go a little deeper into the subject, you're in the right place. Whether you're new in reading the complex universe of the zodiac or not, we have all the information you need. Plus, we provide free personalized daily horoscope, free tarot and psychic readings, zodiac compatibility charts. In short, is ready to become your new BFF that you can ask all about mystical stuff.

Download Free Horoscope App